“Ms. Marvel, Vol. 1: No Normal” by G. Willow Wilson

Ms. Marvel, Vol. 1: No Normal(Author: G. Willow Wilson) + (Year: 2014) + (Goodreads)


Review:

Awesome!

I had started developing a small phobia of superhero comic books after a couple of unsuccessful attempts to read them (namely, and to my partner-in-crime’s huge disappointment, Hawkeye). The thing is, I love the Marvel movies, I also like a lot of the DC movies. But the comic books just don’t live up to it a lot of the time.

Ms. Marvel definitely did, though. This comic book was so cool and unconventional, that I couldn’t help but really like it. It’s just so original and a lot more heartfelt than some of the other superheroes’ origin stories. Part of this might come from the fact that I have been over-saturated by movies about Batman and Superman’s sap stories, but Ms. Marvel is something else altogether.

As a character, she is a big dork, so I can definitely sympathize. However, she also comes from a very conservative family and background and this volume does a good job at trying to explain this culture in an easy-to-swallow kind of way. It also tries to show the soul of the regular Muslim family, instead of the inhumane side of Islam that we see through terrorism. Considering the fact that I, myself, despite being a Christian, have spent a lot of time among Muslims, I know that I have a different view of them and that many people do have a hard time understanding the difference between Islam and radicalism. Ms. Marvel is not subtle about trying to explain that to its readers, but nevertheless, the authors have burdened themselves with a rather unorthodox and admirable task.

tumblr_inline_n0ftxw99e51r61u22

I also thought that the story was generally very cute and light-hearted, unlike many of the superhero comic books that I’ve read. In that sense, it kind of reminded me of Batgirl, back when I loved it. The atmosphere was fun and exciting, instead of depressing and dark, so to me, it was a big plus.

The art was pretty but in a way which was as equally unconventional, as the book itself. The characters were drawn in a cartoonish but pretty way, and with some very nice colors.

13318933-_sx540_

I’m definitely adding Ms. Marvel to my list. The only drawback is that the list never seems to get shorter. Eh…

5 thoughts on ““Ms. Marvel, Vol. 1: No Normal” by G. Willow Wilson

  1. Michael J. Miller says:

    Aaaah! I’m with you! I adore Ms. Marvel. I think it’s one of the best books Marvel’s come out with in the last few years. The only one I prefer over it it would be ‘The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl’ as I love everything about what Ryan North and Erica Henderson have done with her. Anyway, I’m happy to hear you enjoyed Kamala too. Like you said, it all feels so fresh and fun.
    And the importance of how it presents Islam can’t be overstated in the world we live in at the present moment. I always get excited when I meet someone else who’s enjoying Ms. Marvel!!

    Like

    • jnikolova says:

      You know, I think you might have been part of the reason I put this one so high up on my to-read list. I have a vague recollection that we discussed it earlier!

      So I might just add Squirrel Girl higher up the list, too, seeing how I enjoyed Ms Marvel so much.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Michael J. Miller says:

        Really?? Coolio! I’m happy to have (maybe) played a role in bringing you to the wonderful world of Ms. Marvel. I think you’ll like Squirrel Girl too (although, to be fair, I think everyone will). Ryan North has a very distinct writing style but I adore his timing and love his style of humor. I also like the more cartoony style illustrations, and its overall messages too. So that’s my two second endorsement for Squirrel Girl :).

        Like

Leave a Reply

