[Image Comics] First issues, part 2.

Horizon #1

Horizon #1 (2016)
Author: Brandon Thomas

Eh… Not the worst one in the pile. But very messy, confusing and weird.

And worst of all, completely forgettable. I will illustrate: I read it yesterday before going to bed. Today, I couldn’t remember whether I read it. Then I was sure I didn’t. I opened the file again and realized I’m on the last page. I backtracked through the entire book to remember what I had read. Remembered. Closed the file. Now I have a very vague recollection again.

The illustrations are very neutral, because I neither liked them much, nor disliked them in any particular way. The story, as mentioned, is nothing special. It, just like the illustrations, is just there, without provoking any specific emotion. In other words, mediocrity at its best.

Cannibal #1Cannibal #1 (2016)
Author: Jennifer Young

Alternative history, cannibals and swamp hillbillies.

There’s nothing that I gave a damn about in this book. It felt like a sad, exhausted attempt to come up with an original idea. There were a lot of angry, aggressive dudes and one slutty female character.

In general, this was a very testosterony read, and that’s very strange once you notice that the author is female. Which means she’s trying too hard to make it in the big boys’ world, by making a very mancentric book.


Moonshine #1Moonshine #1 (2016)

Author: Joe Harris

More wolves, and more hillbillies. In fact (and this is not a spoiler because it hasn’t happened), I can see this book turning into werewolf hillbillies vs. Italian mobsters.

I am very much over mafia books/movies. This glorification of one of the filthiest layers of scum in society is extremely unnecessary and it makes it seem like these people are “cool”, which they aren’t, “classy”, which they aren’t, and “worthy of attention”, which they could be only if they are securely locked up in a prison to fight among themselves and rid humanity of their lowly presence.

Thanks, bye.


She Wolf #1She Wolf #1
(2014)

Author: Rich Tommaso

You guessed it.

The cover gives nothing away about exactly how UGLY this comic book is. The art was beyond intolerable. It felt like a big joke, or a random strip of rookie comic book drawing for a fanboy website.

And the story is not much better. Young Madonna and her werewolf boyfriend have a fight. Details are unclear because of bad dialogue and horrible illustrations. Oh, and this is from the times people hated Madonna, I guess. She was universally hated by all of the people around her.

Don’t trust me on this one? At the time I’m writing this post, the GR rating of She Wolf is 2.

she-wolf-1-rich-tommaso-feature

Sons Of The Devil #1

Sons of the Devil #1 (2015)
Author: Brian Buccellato

I’m not sure what to even say about this one. I would rate it like this, in reality:

Art: 0
Story: 0
Characters: 0
How much % I cared: 0

I feel sad that people take their creative potential and shove it into such cliched, boring stories, which have no soul in them. There are so few stories with demons and devils in which there’s any twist, any originality, or any reason for the reader to keep on reading. This one is definitely not one of them.


Southern Cross #1Southern Cross #1
(2015)

Author: Becky Cloonan

Art: nope.

Story: potentially.

I strongly disliked the main character. By strongly disliked, I mean that I hated her. She is quite possibly the bitchiest, most annoying main female character that I have ever had the misfortune to read about. She was incessantly rude, and always angry at people, however, when we know nothing about the character, there’s no way to redeem such asshole-ish behavior.

The only thing connected to her that could grow into a half-decent story is her mission and if I were forced to pick one story out of this entire sorry bunch to follow, I would probably go with this one.

Surgeon X #1Surgeon X #1 (2016)
Author: Sara Kenney

When I saw this I had some hopes, relying on the Winter Soldier look and the Repo atmosphere.

Nope.

I felt strongly that I could not care ANY LESS. This book is trying too hard. It’s offensive to feminism of any kind. This is what really bothers me abut women trying to empower women in media. They make them out as harsh, bitchy and insufferable jerks. “We need a strong woman!” “Okay, here’s this asshole.” NO! This is counterproductive. I would not like this person if they were male or female.


The Fix #1The Fix #1
(2016)

Author: Nick Spencer

I knew I will hate this, and I did. Read the summary and you can tell right away.

The Fix is basically every corrupt, bad cop cliche and then some. Vulgar, cheap lifestyle, drugs, women, crime and mobsters.

I’m not even going to kill any more brain cells writing this review.

yuck-gif


Throwaways #1Throwaways #1 (2016)
Author: Caitlyn Kittredge

Pfft… I don’t know. This comic book is a mess. Spies, secret agencies, super secret camps, sleeper cells, war veterans, weird punk guys with green mohawks and seizures. Is this supernatural? Is it brainwashing? Science fiction?

One thing I do know: I’m not reading anything else from this series.

4 thoughts on “[Image Comics] First issues, part 2.

  1. Michael J. Miller says:

    THANK YOU for your comment about glorifying the mafia!! This is a trend that has always confused me. Yes, the Godfather movies are great cinema. Yes, ‘The Sopranos’ was. Highly rated show. Yes, ‘Breaking Bad’ was too. But I have never understood why we like to take criminals and present them as heroic. It’s not like we’re talking about the Robin Hood myth here – robbing from the rich to give to the poor. We’re just talking about CRIMINALS. It was so, so refreshing to read your take on this too!!!

    Like

    • jnikolova says:

      YES! I’m glad you think so, too! I can agree that the Godfather is just such a well made movie, and the series as a whole, so you can let it slide that one time, I guess. But there have been so, so many shows like that. Where you are made to feel like you HAVE to root for such despicable people. I feel especially annoyed by that as a person who comes from a country with a very strong and feasible presence of the mafia.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Michael J. Miller says:

        Absolutely! To be so personally aware of the difference between a romanticized depiction of the mafia compared to what you know to be the truth of the lived experience would be extra frustrating. I felt the same way about ‘Breaking Bad,’ etc. with the drug market growing larger and larger, in the U.S. and especially in the surrounding area where I’m from.

        Like

Leave a Reply

