“Revival, Vol. 1: You’re Among Friends” by Tim Seeley

Revival, Vol. 1: You're Among Friends(Author: Tim Seeley) + (Year: 2012) + (Goodreads)


Review:

Pretty good, in comparison with a lot of the things that I have read recently. Revival is not mind-blowing, but it definitely has a lot of potential.

What is original about Revival is that it’s not your classic zombie story. Yes, the dead come back. But they are not this:

large

Not totally, anyway.

The dead have risen, and they seem to be acting normally. Have they received an extra life? Does everyone get a second chance? Are they okay? They seem to be. Until they don’t. Until people start noticing something off about them. Something in their behavior. A strange spark in their eyes…

If you have read Pet Sematary or Handling the Undead, you would not regard this as an original concept. However, the approach is different, especially in the medium of comic books.

I can’t deny that I was very curious about the peculiar representation of death and what lies beyond; and also, of how people, the “normal” ones, that is, act when they are put in such a situation. From the ones who try to rationalize it, to the ones who turn it into a sign of providence. So undeniably, Revival has interesting and colorful characters, the development of whom I will enjoy following in the other volumes, as well.

And although we get a lot more of Dana, than of Em, I’m pretty sure that Em is the character to follow in this series. She is, I think, the face of the moral issue in this comic book. I don’t necessary say that she is likable, as a person, but she is definitely the more vivid and deep character. And, of course, the crazier one.

revivalcomic

What did I not like about Revival, then? As I said, it’s not mind-blowing. It works, but it could also not work. There’s a story going on, but the first volume is separate incidents that have yet to add up to a story. The protagonist, Dana, is not the most consistent character. She’s a good caring mother and a dutiful cop in one scene, a random lady looking for casual sex in a bar at the next. (And honestly, how is that supposed to work in a small town in Wisconsin? Who do you think you will meet there, woman?)

However, I’m more than eager to continue reading and see where this journey goes…

4 thoughts on ““Revival, Vol. 1: You’re Among Friends” by Tim Seeley

  1. Michael J. Miller says:

    Hey Jeannette, I’ve nominated you for the Blogger Recognition Award! Obviously you don’t have to do the post if you don’t want nor, if you want to, to rush the post. No worries. I’ve just always loved what you do here, the tone and scope of your reviews, so I wanted to share the love. There’s a piece on my site that gives all the details – https://mycomicrelief.wordpress.com/2017/02/12/blogger-recognition-award/

    Also, thanks for making me think I need to read ‘Revival’ now too. I’d forgotten this was in my to-read pile until now!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jnikolova says:

    Thank you so much once again! I will try to do it sooner rather than later. The posts I need to write keep piling up, but there’s no rest for the wicked.

    And I think you should give Revival a chance, it has potential, so I’m rather excited about it.

    Like

  3. Nancy says:

    I loved Revival. I do admit it got a bit too loose in the middle volumes with me wondering where the many plot threads were going but it did end up coming together nicely in the end. Plus, I hear there is an amazing cameo in the last issue!

    Like

    • jnikolova says:

      Hehe, I had put Revival a couple of steps down the list of comic books I need to read, but I also heard about the amazing cameo, and now it’s back at the top! And also, whenever I hear that a series has ended, I feel like now I can get through the entire thing, because I know that it will not go on forever and possibly become very bad. I remember from your post that you said the ending was pretty satisfying, so I will try to keep that in mind while going through the volumes that stray a bit from the main story.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

