“Fables, Vol. 4: March of the Wooden Soldiers” by Bill Willingham

Fables, Volume 4: March of the Wooden Soldiers(Author: Bill Willingham) + (Year: 2004) + (Goodreads)


Review:

I love this series more and more, the deeper we get into the story. As I said in my review for the previous volume, at the beginning, when it was just a bunch of characters seemingly without a set purpose, I wasn’t fully convinced. Sure, it was fun and all, but I couldn’t possibly imagine how they could make as many volumes as they did if the story continued the same way.

Good news: It didn’t. Fables has slowly been evolving, volume by volume, and getting a lot more interconnected. I like the smaller story arcs, but most of all, I am really curious and excited about the major plot line, which is the Adversary.

The closer they get to that story, the bloodier and more gruesome Fables becomes. And that is a great thing! Why, you’d ask. Because the fables, and especially the fairytales, as a genre, didn’t always used to be all insta-love and happy endings, the way we have them now. On the contrary, they used to be quite horrifying, starting with Hansel and Gretel being eaten, and not by far ending with Cinderella being beaten to death by her step-mother.

And speaking of gruesome characters, I absolutely loved the witch fight in this volume. I’m fully convinced that this was, as of yet, the most bad-ass fight in Fables, and I hope they keep it up.

I won’t spoil anything about the actual stories, because unlike the previous volume, for example, in this one there are major spoilers. I found the stories with Boy Blue and Red Riding Hood very interesting. The present one, of course, was awesome. However, the one that I liked better was The Last Castle, which is the exact type of “origin” story that I would love to read more, in order to get what’s happening with the Adversary.

Leave a Reply

