“Locke & Key, Vol. 1: Welcome to Lovecraft” by Joe Hill

Locke & Key, Vol. 1: Welcome to Lovecraft

(Author: Joe Hill) + (Year: 2008) + (Goodreads)


Review:

I usually try to be more guarded when reading something I have heard too many good things about, but in this case I let myself be optimistic. Especially because I was craving something scary, movie or book.

As it happened with NOS4A2, Joe Hill disappointed me.

  1. I felt no specific interest in the story or the characters.
  2. I did not like the art AT ALL.
  3. I was not impressed at all with the villain.

The most original thing about the plot were the keys, essentially. The entire notion of the different keys, doors and locks was cool and I would still be interested to see it in a different interpretation. I absolutely think that it could be the centerpiece of something more thrilling and/or scary.

But what actually happened was that this entire interesting plot line was just a tool for the development of a totally different story, that of the well-house and Echo. And Echo was a character I really did not care about. After all of the positive feedback I have heard about this book, I expected something creepy and the personification of creepiness and horror is the villain… who failed. Nothing was explained about her mirror scene and none of her actions were all that interesting. Sam was more chilling a character, but not by much.

The heroes, or as close as they got to that word, were honestly annoying. I can’t use a different description because that is what they were to me. Especially Tyler. From the way that he acted to the way he was drawn. I honestly shuddered of disgust every time he was shown. He looked like an overgrown gorilla, who happens to be enrolled in high school. Even a movie could have depicted him better. And personality-wise all of them were horrible except for Bode. Not because they were bad people, but because they were just wrong, faceless, lifeless, lacking any depth. Bode I partially liked.

I am not sure that I really want to continue with the series. Having failed at liking Joe Hill‘s biggest bestseller, barely tolerated his second biggest bestseller, and strongly disliked his first volume, I do not see this relationship going anywhere. 

4 thoughts on ““Locke & Key, Vol. 1: Welcome to Lovecraft” by Joe Hill

    • jnikolova says:

      If I do, it might be only because I trust your judgement. I really didn’t like the first volume and I read several times that it was supposed to be an amazing horror.
      I guess I can give a chance to another volume or two.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Green Onion says:

        Wow, I appreciate the faith. There is not much horror to it, if there is it is a minor sub element. The other thing is, at least for me, horror does not really work for graphic novels, it is difficult to build suspence and the art would have to get pretty graphic.

        Like

  1. Nancy says:

    I adored this series and have waxed poetic about it several times on my blog. I’ve flipped thru some of Joe Hill’s regular books, and haven’t been impressed, but together with Rodriguez’s illustrations, these graphic novels have become one of my favorites.

    Like

Leave a Reply

