“Sex Criminals, Volume 1: One Weird Trick” by Matt Fraction & Chip Zdarsky

19536001

(Author: Matt Fraction) + (Year: 2014) + (Goodreads)


Review:

I liked this volume much more than I expected. I had very high expectations which made me sure I would be disappointed. I was not. It was really interesting, funny and original.

I do not know whether it was a good or a bad idea, but I read Just the Tips by Fraction and Zdarsky before I did Sex Criminals and Just the Tips was basically all of the sex jokes and pictures from Sex Criminals in a separate book. Therefore, I was not spectacularly surprised or shocked by the jokes, simply because I had already seen them. But that does not mean that I did not appreciate Sex Criminals.

It is undeniable that the authors are very creative. There were many things that just “wow”-ed me. As in, how does anyone come up with anything as crazy as this?! Facts, however, are that these two guys did and the result was hilarious.

!!! WARNING: GRAPHIC IMAGE !!!

I found many things about the characters that would normally put me off and make me dislike them, but in this book it kind of just made sense. For example, I liked Suzie, even though she was a bit too frivolous… But it is a sex comic book, what else should I expect.

The thing that did not make a lot of sense to me was Jon. He just felt very unbalanced, somehow just wrong in an existential way, rather than being badly written. That is why I was not sure what Suzie liked SO MUCH about him. And this also made me question the foundation of their relationship and whether it would develop as much if they didn’t share their abilities. I am really curious to read more about it in the next volumes, maybe I will change my mind. But for the majority of this novel I felt like Suzie agreed to a lot of things she didn’t like because of her feelings to Jon.

sex-criminals

Generally, I found everything in the creative design of Sex Criminals very… right. The atmosphere, the writing, the characters, the jokes, it all just went in a great sync. I hope this chemistry does not change further on.

Leave a Reply

