“The Lie” by C.L. Taylor

The Lie

(Author: C.L. Taylor) + (Year: 2015) + (Goodreads)


Review:

*** 3.5 stars ***

I should add this to the “Unexpected Netgalley Gem” shelf. I had not set any expectations and I was pleasantly surprised by the book.

My initial thought was that this can potentially turn in The Girl on the Train, which I really didn’t like despite all of the positive reviews it got. But I was surprised to find myself with a much more interesting and suspenseful novel.

The story revolves around a woman, Emma, who went on a nightmarish trip to Nepal with her friends after which she was forced to change her name and escape her previous life.

The setting was great, both the story in the past and the one in the present were engaging and creepy and I found myself having no idea what to expect will happen, which has become a rare occurrence nowadays. I was eager to read on and on and I kept that pace up until the book was over (and I was just about expecting someone to jump from under my bed). Personally, I found the events in Nepal to be scarier and  very unsettling. This is my second book of this type in the last couple of months (I will not disclose the other one because the common denominator in both is not shown in the description and can be seen as a spoiler by the pickier readers), but this was surely the better one. The entire storyline in the resort made me feel bothered and creeped out, which is always exciting when you are reading a book or watching a movie on a similar subject. Overall, the author did a very good job setting up the atmosphere, especially the jumps from the present to the past and the other way around, which were set in the exactly right moments.

As for the characters, I think they were also a writing success, that not meaning that I liked them. In fact, I disliked the majority of them with a special fire and I think that was the intention of Taylor, so good job, buddy. Daisy was a very unpleasant person, and although I saw what the others might have liked about her, she was overall just so damaged that I am surprised anyone could find her “the best one” in a group, which says a lot about the group itself. But it was Leanne that I could have punched in the face with… a chair or an ax or something. She was just the most horrible human being. Isaac was a close second but it was immediately obvious that there was something wrong with him and the entire hippie group in Nepal. However, among the four friends there was a certain normalcy at the beginning so it was both interesting and unbelievably frustrating to see how their relationship began falling apart because of their disgusting personalities. Al was just annoying, because she was the real peoplepleaser. She sided with whomever was convenient, not with whomever she really liked and trusted. As to Emma/Jane, she was by far the most normal one, but I do agree that she was a wet blanket. Especially considering how drastically her personality changed from the past to the present, which made it obvious that she could act like a normal person if she wanted to.

My issues with the book were of less importance, to a degree. I did not like the ending, specifically. The tension did not build to a high enough degree. The author did a masterful job of building it throughout the entire book and there was no outlet in the end. It kind of just dropped.

As for the other thing, it is not a problem as much as I found it weird. There were two expressions that I have never in my life seen in a book. Ever. I would have paid attention like I did now and I would have remembered it. I realize that they are probably local expressions to the author, but as they are clearly not that popular, as for me to have never read it among hundreds of books, I ask myself, why were they repeated so often. One of them in particular seemed like a joke the first time I read it but then it was repeated over and over and over again:

“But Leanne and Daisy have been living in each other’s pockets for days now.”

And this one… every time they were talking about blushing, this was used instead.

“… the base of her throat coloring pink.”

rainbow unicorn of the day the more you know

…about the English language.

Leave a Reply

