“The Wicked + The Divine, Vol. 3: Commercial Suicide by Kieron Gillen

The Wicked + The Divine, Vol. 3: Commercial Suicide

(Author: Kieron  Gillen) + (Year: 2016) + (Goodreads)


Review:

So far in The Wicked + The Divine we had stellar art, mind-blowing, beautiful and fascinating(+++). And we had a story on the moodier side, a bit slow-pacing, but with potential(-).

Now, in this volume, we have a somewhat faster developing story(+) and THE WORST ART IMAGINABLE(——-). There was maybe one guest artist that I kind of liked and one that I did not totally hate. The rest of it was offensive, most of all Sakhmet’s issue.

Offensive, I tell you. Original Sakhmet and the Morrigan:

And for comparison,  Sakhmet and the Morrigan from Sakhmet’s issue in the third volume:

Absurd and ugly and no one can convince me that it adds to the characters’ personalities. If anything it is just distracting the reader from the story AND the personality through really poor, childish art. Example #2, from issue one of Commercial Suicide:

To the right you see what I think should be a girl?!? She used to be one? Maybe?!

In Amaterasu’s issue everyone looked deep-fried:

Original artist: 

Here too:

I have so much anger against the art. Verrrryyy disappointing.

The story was alright, I guess. The Persephone arc was interesting, some of the events finally started unraveling.

Tara was not what I expected, though. I was very excited to see her but she turned out to be not nearly as cool as anticipated and very whiny.

Now that I have listed these things, I almost can’t remember why I decided the rating to be 3 stars. I guess it is because I liked the last issue of this volume? I will not change it now, but I am definitely not as convinced as before. The art basically ruined what was really good about this series because as I have said before, the story was not and is still not superb, it could definitely use more speed and depth.

4 thoughts on ““The Wicked + The Divine, Vol. 3: Commercial Suicide by Kieron Gillen

  1. Michael J. Miller says:

    Alright, so here’s my question. I told you I had the first volume, and your review moved it to the top of my reading list. Should I just stop there?? Or is there enough to the story that I should track down the other volumes too?

    Like

    • jnikolova says:

      Though question, but I think that once you have read the second volume, you would want to continue the story either way. That is horrible reality of this volume, there is certainly a development in the events, but the art is baaad.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

