“The Wicked + The Divine, Vol. 2: Fandemonium” by Kieron Gillen

The Wicked + The Divine, Vol. 2: Fandemonium

(Author: Kieron Gillen) + (Year: 2015) + (Goodreads)


Review:

Ughhh… I’m angry. So much potential and still not delivering. And that makes it so confusing.

Let’s do this the old-fashioned way. I will dissect it in several parts and tell you what was good and what was not or failed to improve.

The art is still magnificent. I swear I could continue reading this just for the art. I have so much love for the artist. I will give you this sample and write no more.

wicdiv-1234

Ugh.

But. The story did not move an inch. The only reaaaaallly cool moment were the last scenes with Laura. And they opened up an entire new load of questions, the answers of which I feel we will not see soon. Because they are not very good at answering questions. I still fail to see the reason behind many things happening and some things I only got because I was reading up on Wikipedia and accidentally spoiled myself about some minor plots.

The characters keep being on the cool side, though I really did not like what they did with my favourite, the Morrigan. She was the biggest badass in the first volume but in this one she is more of a clingy weepy girl. Laura was again a bit pathetic, but due to the last scene that I mentioned, I am not sure anymore whether she has a fault in it. The others are also interesting, especially Dionysus, whose appearance in the volume was one of the best things in the series, but because there are so many of them, they do not get enough screen time. I am really excited to see Tara, though.

Leave a Reply

