Day 7: “The Wicked + The Divine, Vol. 1: The Faust Act” by Kieron Gillen

The Wicked + The Divine, Vol. 1: The Faust Act

(Author: Kieron Gillen) + (Year: 2014) + (Goodreads)


Review:

Now that was good!

I would say “great”, but there is still more to be desired.

The absolute best thing about this volume is the art. The art is beautiful! Vibrant! Colorful! Ugh. Love. There was not a moment in the entire time I was reading this volume that I thought to myself “This could have been drawn better.” Everything was visually stunning. If I have a comic book one day(secret dream #493241), I would love for it to look even half as beautiful as The Wicked + The Divine.

Story-wise, more could have been desired. It was an introduction and all that, but there was still a plot and it was majorly confusing. I got the base ideas but not the point of them. They have to die after 2 years. Great, but in order to make me care, you have to tell me what the reason is. Is it humanity? Some enemy? Themselves? That would have added a much desired dramatic effect on the entire volume.

I liked the characters though. They chose interesting gods for the pantheon and very unconventional ones. I would be the first to admit that, not being familiar with Irish folklore, I was not aware of the existence of the Morrigan, but I can say for sure she was my favourite among all of them. She was just so badass. Luci was nice, except that she seemed to desperate to be someone, much like the godly version of Laura – each of them is trying to be remarkable, each in her own sphere of influence. And speaking of Laura, she was by far the worst character. It is beyond me why they thought this crazy, obsessed wannabe would be a good main character. I, personally, find her absurdly pathetic.

And yet, there are so many things that make up for the flaws I found in The Wicked + The Divine. I am so looking forward to continuing with this series, I hope it keeps up the tempo and, especially, the art. Ahh…

Girlcursh like you wouldn’t believe and also crazy as fuck.

2014-08-212b10-19-102bcopy

I mean… look at this.

the-wicked-the-divine-volume-1-page-4

4 thoughts on “Day 7: “The Wicked + The Divine, Vol. 1: The Faust Act” by Kieron Gillen

  1. Michael J. Miller says:

    I just bought this book yesterday!! Now I’m even more excited to read it!! You’ve just, single-handedly, jumped this book right to the top of my To Be Read List :).

    Like

Leave a Reply

