Day 5: “Saga, Vol. 2” by Brian K. Vaughan

Saga, Volume 2

(Author: Brian K. Vaughan) + (Year: 2013) + (Goodreads)


Review:

I just LOVE Saga so freaking much! It is for sure the best series that I am following. It’s completely consistent in being amazing and the art is beyond fantastic.

In this volume we got to see the back-story of Marko and Alana and I can’t say that I did not enjoy it. For the first time since I started reading the series, I actually started liking them, Alana more, because she is totally badass and completely crazy.

My favourite story in this volume, however, was about Barr, Hazel’s grandfather. I thought it was maybe the most touching episode in the entire series so far.

Yesterday I was talking about writers making the story gruesome and disgusting to catch your attention. Saga does that. I love it, but there are things that are way out there. Like the monster Marko and his mother fought in the giant egg. Too much.

Meeting Gwendolyn was not fun at all. She is a bitch and not of the fun variety. Overall, I really dislike all of the people chasing Alana and Marko and she is way up there at the top of this list. The Will, however, is simply annoying. Whiny, unsure of what he wants to do, and wallowing over that nasty spider creature from the last volume. Out of their entire team, including Sophie, I definitely like the cat the most. It’s just hilarious and totally untactful.

Although I do not like Prince Robot IV in the slightest, I was interested in reading his story too which lead to us meeting this fella. My favourite character in this volume: 

saga12-medic-e1365814039437

Leave a Reply

