Day 3: “Hawkeye, Vol. 1: My Life as a Weapon” by Matt Fraction

Hawkeye, Vol. 1: My Life as a Weapon

(Author: Matt Fraction) + (Year: 2013) + (Goodreads)


Review:

I am usually not as zen about anything. Ever. (Sorry, I’m from the Balkans.) But I have reached my most zen moment as far as comic books come: All comic books have something cool in them, but they are not all as cool for all people.

In other words, I see that Marvel and DC might not be my thing as far as comic books come. I LOVE superhero movies but the superhero comic books simply underwhelm me. I tried so many times by now. I have affection for Batgirl and Mockingbird, but  I am overall just unhappy with the stories and the graphics. I like the fact that in indie comic books they stick to one style. In superhero comic books, they do not. Therefore:

  1. I hated the art. I can’t sugarcoat it no matter how hard I try. One of the artists suffers from some kind of a lazy-eye fetish, because all of the characters looked disproportional and looking at different directions with each eye. The artist at the beginning and the end of this volume was too meh. I had a problem with reading the characters expressions, their faces being a blur of squiggly lines without any detail in them, and there was no background whatsoever. It looked just done in order to be done, I saw no care and interest in details.

The superhero stories themselves also bother me, simply because the stakes are so low that I can’t muster interest. The thing is, too much saving the world from total destruction is… too much. But there is another thing as well:

2. In comic books they do this thing where they make the superheroes basically too big. The world is small for them, every villain is too weak, every problem has a solution. Their lack of weakness makes it dreary caring about their lives. It is different in stories like Saga or Wytches or anything else that is not superhero book, basically. Because there you know that even if the character is battling a single villain, their life is at stake. They are so fragile that they can, in fact, be overcome. An Avenger, on the other hand… Do I believe he will die? Not really. Not at all. So why do I care? He is not saving the world and he is fighting a group of Russian(I think) mobsters. What stakes are there? That he has to save his immortal soul? Spare me. That is a characteristic of superheroes: they never change their personalities. So nothing new is happening in Hawkeye and nothing of the old is spectacular and no battle is waged, really. It is just his day-to-day routine. I have one too?! Jeannette comic book? I think yes.

4 thoughts on “Day 3: “Hawkeye, Vol. 1: My Life as a Weapon” by Matt Fraction

    • jnikolova says:

      I am SO glad I’m not the only one. Even my boyfriend, the tastes of whom I usually agree with, is on the opposite team from me on this one. Something just felt off about this story.

      Like

Leave a Reply

