“Uncanny Inhumans, Vol. 1: Time Crush” by Charles Soule

Uncanny Inhumans, Vol. 1: Time Crush

(Author: Charles Soule) + (Year: 2016) + (Goodreads)


Review:

Because of the last two seasons of Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D I was very excited to start this. Even though I didn’t know what to expect. But despite that, I was not impressed. Ha ha.

The problem was I didn’t feel anything toward these specific characters. Especially “the leaders”. The royal family, being the center of the volume, they should have been amazing characters, charming and able to draw the attention. To me, they seemed generic, remote. I felt I should like Black Bolt and I should feel awe from his powers. But they were not really explained. His words are mighty. Okay. Why? How?

And while important things like that were skipped, we were introduced to EVERY SINGLE CHARACTER by name outside of the natural flow of the story.

  • Stop shouting, Bob.
  • Don’t tell me what to do, Fred.
  • Hey, Anna, kick this guy’s ass.
  • I sure will, Fred. Come here, Peter, etc. etc. (I’m obviously using random names.)

There were several pages where every single speech bubble ended with the name of someone different. It was annoying. Then I decided to read it out loud. It was nerve-wrecking and sounded absurd. Imagine this situation in a movie:

  • This is a spaceship, Black Bolt.
  • I can see that, Triton. Do you see it, Medusa?
  • Yes, I do. Human Torch, pass me the salt shaker.

Overall, I did not care for the volume. And the story was confusing, because they were referring to too many things from different storylines not included here, yet repeating over and over very useless and even obvious information. Simply put, what was important was either skipped or narrated in a very vague way, and what was not, was explained to us in every single issue.

2 thoughts on ““Uncanny Inhumans, Vol. 1: Time Crush” by Charles Soule

  1. Michael J. Miller says:

    This was my exact fear with starting this series! Marvel has been pushing the Inhumans so much in the MCU I was intrigued by their new comic. But I had fears it wouldn’t live up to what I wanted it to be. I’m sorry you didn’t like it but I really appreciate your warning.

    Like

    • jnikolova says:

      Usually I am not one to discourage people from reading something, because tastes vary, but if I had a second chance, I would simply skip this entire thing. Even as I start disliking Daisy in the show, the characters here are much worse. She does not appear and neither do any of the other Inhumans from AoS.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

