“Doctor Strange, Vol. 1: The Way of the Weird” by Jason Aaron

Doctor Strange, Vol. 1: The Way of the Weird

(Author: Jason Aaron) + (Year: 2016) + (Goodreads)


Review:

I’m on the fence with this one. There were things that I certainly enjoyed, but there was one major thing that I did not, and also I could not feel a big attachment to the characters.

Doctor Strange is very convoluted and full of action, events and information. The story is colorful and… strange. (Come on, you had to expect that one.) Strange himself is not really a character I managed to warm up to in this volume. Sure, he is funny and weird, but he is also very detached from his humanity, even though it’s his drive to continue doing what he does.

My major issue with the entire volume, mostly based on the art for obvious reasons, is that it’s overwhelming, too much is happening in almost every panel which makes it hard to focus on detail, unless you want to spend three days on a single issue. Some of the bigger panels with many characters and bacteria and stuff were very funny but it takes entirely too much time to find all of the hidden stuff in the panel in order to fully enjoy it.

I also have a more minor criticism on the fact that in every single issue it was absolutely necessary to be pointed out that Doctor Strange’s work is so and so, so and so organisms live all around us, their sizes vary from so and so to so and so, etc. By the end of the volume I could almost narrate this myself. However, as I do realize random issues can fall in the hands of people who did not start at the beginning and need to be introduced to the story anyway, I see the point of doing it. It is just slightly annoying at moments.

What I really enjoyed about The Way of the Weird was the majority of the events and the pace of the action. I had the opportunity to read several volumes about different characters recently and sometimes I was just struck by the fact that the villain is so unimportant and ultimately not scary, that they could have been taken down by police officers with average intellect and capabilities. In this volume, however, the entire world of magic was endangered and that actually had an effect on the world on a grand scale.

I’m really looking forward to the movie, though. Benedict Cumberbatch!

2 thoughts on ““Doctor Strange, Vol. 1: The Way of the Weird” by Jason Aaron

  1. Michael J. Miller says:

    I’ve been debating picking this up myself. I’m intrigued by Strange’s first solo series in years but I’m also wary given some of what I’ve heard of the story. I appreciate your insight. Thanks for the review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

