“Batman: The Long Halloween” by Jeph Loeb

106069

(Author: Jeph Loeb) + (Year: 1999) + (Goodreads)


Review:

I can’t say that I had fun reading The Long Halloween. Rather, I grew tired with it by the end. It’s okay, of course, because luckily authors and illustrators of comic books change all the time, but as praised as this book is by critics and fans alike, it was not for me. Both the story and the art were more old school that I was in for. On the other hand, with time and reading more Batman, I think I might revisit it and maybe even have a new appreciation for it.

I liked the mixed batch of villains and the cameos and name-dropping, but ultimately, the story was based around the Holiday killer and that in the end turned out underwhelming for me.

Also, as it was old fashioned, both in terms of how it was written and what was included in it, I felt it lacked juice and was very schematic and almost following a pattern which became tiring and predictable after a while.

Most of all, I disliked Batman himself. There was nothing too personal about him, he was like a winged automaton the struggles of whom did not interest me at all. The most private remark that was made by his own narration was “I believe in Jim Gordon/Gotham/Harvey Dent.” He was way too remote for me as a human being, most of all, and that is what is supposed to draw the reader to Batman, who is just a man, after all.

3 thoughts on ““Batman: The Long Halloween” by Jeph Loeb

  1. Michael J. Miller says:

    Have you ever read ‘The Killing Joke’ by Alan Moore and Brian Bolland? It is a disturbing and haunting story. But it’s also a brilliant meditation on the nature of evil, care of the Joker. If you’re enjoying perusing some Batman graphic novels, I’d suggest you give it a read! It’s well deserving of its “classic” status.

    Like

    • jnikolova says:

      Thank you for the suggestion! I’ve actually heard a lot about it and how good it is. Even non-comic book fans that I know have read and liked it, so I think I’ll definitely look for it soon.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Michael J. Miller says:

        It is a literary masterpiece…but it’s also a truly disturbed look at the nature of evil. It takes an emotional toll on the reader, so be ready for that. But it is deserving of it’s place as a classic of Batman’s canon. I’ll be excited to read your review when you decide to read it!

        Like

Leave a Reply

