“The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, Vol. 1” by Alan Moore

297627

(Author: Alan Moore) + (Year: 2002) + (Goodreads)


Review:

I remember watching the movie way back when it came out and I was really fascinated with the story. Considering that the movie came out in 2003, I was 10 years old. And I thought it was amazing to see all of these characters that I had heard of or read about on the same screen. Now thinking back, I’m not sure I’d like the movie all that much, especially considering how unfit the casting is for their roles (like Peta Wilson playing Mina Murray. Just NO.) and especially taking into account how much the movie story does NOT follow the comic book which is actually quite good.

Alan Moore is pure genius, in my opinion. Not only is he a very creative writer, but even more importantly, to read his works is so immensely pleasurable. His writing style is lovely, a fact that can be proven not only by the comic books he wrote but also by the story at the very end of The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen which was written in a very stylish and intriguing matter. I would also like to say that while many people do not take comic books/graphic novels seriously, many “novel writers” can learn a thing or two from talented authors like Moore.

On the story itself, I really enjoyed the volume and the only thing which bothered me was that even though there was a good story, it still started and ended abruptly, simply because they had quite a few introductory chapters in which Wilhelmina gathers the team. I am truly curious to see how the next volume is going to be, now that this big group of characters has already been shown to the readers. One question that really intrigues me is whether Dorian Gray will show up at some point, because I remember he was not only a mere character but a very important one in the movie, which made me wonder whether they merged several volumes/story lines.

As far as the characters go, I could not really sympathize to their issues firstly because the characters were a bit impersonal, and second, which I think is the reason to the first one, they were already existing literature characters, the stories of which we are already familiar with.

At first I was not thrilled about the art but ultimately, and after I got used to it, it made a good contribution to the story and it was pretty and, at the right moments, the right amount of gruesome.

Definitely looking forward to the next volumes.

 

Leave a Reply

