[Image Comics] FIRST ISSUES: The Bad

 

As promised, Part 2: The Bad is here. With comic books I think it’s a bit hard to say how much weird is too weird, because they are the promised land of all the weird things that TV is not likely to show you. Or at least wasn’t. We did see a talking raccoon as main character in a huge blockbuster. The point is, the issues that I put here were either so weird that you have no idea what is actually going on, or underwhelming, so they kind of slipped from my mind and were therefore not good enough to be in The Good list.

Citizen Jack #1 (2015)
Author: 
Sam Humphries

Citizen Jack #1

Ugh… Okay? First of all, I did not like the drawings. At all. Second, the story was too mundane, nothing to actually grab your attention and hold it so that you really want to get your hands on the next issue. Third – who is Jack? Jack is an asshole, everybody hates Jack, you will also hate Jack after reading this. The reader is neither willing to hate him and love him at the same time, nor to sympathize with him in any way. He is just an annoying old douchebag who was apparently so bad at politics that even a small town which was ruled by his dad could not stand him.

The description does its work to pull your attention – “A HORRORCOMEDY FOR ANYONE WHO HATES POLITICS!”.

  1. Politics don’t seem to be the subject here.
  2. There is only one supernatural character and the rest of it is completely boring.
  3. For the most part it’s not really funny, just pathetic.

One star goes to the dolphin. Because… reasons.

Limbo #1 (2015)
Author: 
Dan Watters

Limbo #1

I’m on the ropes with this one. I could crown it “The Best of the Worst” but I don’t really know how to explain my feelings.

The thing is: the graphics are charming, if not actually beautiful, the detail in them is interesting, especially in the images with skulls and skeletons; the story also has enough potential; the characters are not horrible… But… I still don’t feel any particular interest or desire to continue reading the series. There is something missing.

As the biggest problem I would put the main character, who, albeit not being annoying, is not really interesting either. I have no desire to follow him around on his adventures and be invested in what happens to him.

There is a certain creepiness, though, that I did enjoy, especially in the goat-shaman scene. If the entire issue had been like this, Limbo would have definitely gone to my previous post.

Plutona #1 (2015)
Author: 
Jeff Lemire

Plutona #1

A brand new heartfelt super-hero series by JEFF LEMIRE (DESCENDER, Hawkeye) and amazing newcomer EMI LENOX! PLUTONA follows the story of five suburban kids who make a shocking discovery while exploring the woods one day after school…the body of Plutona, the world’s greatest superhero.

Who even comes up with these stuff? This comic book is anything but heartfelt, for starters. The character from the cover is a total bitch, mean and extremely annoying. And nobody would tell me I’m cute if I lost my sister in the woods where dead bodies lie.

As for the rest of it, it’s mostly kids playing at being detectives. We see a little of it in the first issue, but it’s clear that that is where the story is going.

The characters overall are the usual American cliches – a head bitch, a nerd, a bad boy and a loser girl. And they all have, for some reason, weird, pointy feet.

Some of these are, of course, things that can be overlooked, especially since it’s a first issue, but at the same time I don’t know if I want to use my time continuing the series just for the possibility of proving myself wrong. And I’m going to point out right here that I liked the graphics a lot!

So, if you want to share an opinion, I’m open to ideas.

Ringside #1 (2015)
Author: 
Joe Keatinge

Ringside #1

That’s a No-no right there. There is particularly nothing that I enjoyed about Ringside. I guess it might be interesting to some, but for me it was just a comic book repetition of the Rocky, Warrior and Southpaw type of movies.

I also disliked the drawings – in many panels all we see are barely human-shaped splashes of colors and detail is something that is overall missing.

Tokyo Ghost #1 (2015)
Author:
Rick Remender

Tokyo Ghost #1

I don’t even know what to say about Tokyo Ghost. I spent most of the time either confused or annoyed, while reading this.

It kind of reminded me of Blade Runner, but not really. The gruesome parts were trying to be interesting, but not really. The main female character had some potential, but not really.

I hated the relationship between the two main characters, it was just weird and it felt very wrong at some points. Like the sex scene at the end. So wrong. And for the most part… I just didn’t care. Not to mention that the guy was disturbing.

One thought on “[Image Comics] FIRST ISSUES: The Bad

Leave a Reply

