“Scott Pilgrim’s Precious Little Life” by Bryan Lee O’Malley

Scott Pilgrim's Precious Little Life (Scott Pilgrim, #1)

(Author: Bryan Lee O’Malley) + (Year: 2010) + (Goodreads)


Review:

I watched the Scott Pilgrim vs. the World movie years ago and it was real love. For a while it topped the “Jeannette’s Favourite Movies” list. (Even as I’m writing this, I have a strong urge to re-watch it.)

Therefore, it’s probably completely understandable that I absolutely loved this book. It was fan-tastic! And obviously while they were making the movie, they paid huge attention to detail, because even though I had forgotten some moments and scenes, it was so easy to re-imagine everything in color and with the actual actors, simply because every scene was executed precisely as it was drawn.

The story is obviously hilariously awesome, all of the characters are such weirdos, it’s so good. I loved the dry humor and the sarcastic remarks to a degree in which I felt like all of the characters are my soulmates at one point or another.
To be honest, out of all of them, Scott is not my favourite by far. However that might be part of the point. As well as having the readers love Ramona. Because that I did. She’s so cool. I totally feel like a Ramona sometimes, she’s the relatable hipster girl we were or tried to be in high school. (Though I don’t approve of her choice of boyfriends. Somehow.)

I’m now really looking forward to finding the other parts of the series, since I was loaned this one. Fingers crossed.
(Also, I feel like I should mention that this is the second graphic novel I’ve read in my life, after Persepolis… Well, I read a Donald Duck thing when I was a kid, but come on… And anyway, I’m starting to feel a love for graphic novels. They are just too fun .)

2 thoughts on ““Scott Pilgrim’s Precious Little Life” by Bryan Lee O’Malley

Leave a Reply

