“The Call of the Wild” by Jack London

The Call of the Wild

(Author: Jack London) + (Year: 1903) + (Goodreads)


Review:

I read this book as a sort of a buddy-read and to be honest, that was the only reason I decided to read it at all. I’m going to be fair and admit that I knew I wasn’t going to like it. I’ve never been a fan of books or movies about animals. I don’t seem to be able to feel any emotional connection with them. I guess that applies to all things non-human.

I could not really make myself care for this kidnapped dog. I found the world it lived in completely revolting – the humans were vicious, simple, uneducated. But there were also other things which I didn’t appreciate: Buck, himself, was not my type of hero, the scenery was bleak, the plot was… lacking? I couldn’t feel the soul of The Call of the Wild. Maybe I’ve seen to many struggling people in this world to root for one single animal.

Where Martin Eden was an amazing book, The Call of the Wild did not manage to capture me as a reader. Considering how many people worship this book, maybe the fault is in me. But… c’est la vie.

 

Leave a Reply

