“In Search of the Paranormal” by Richard Estep

In Search of the Paranormal: The Hammer House Murder, Ghosts of the Clink, and Other Disturbing Investigations

(Author: Richard Estep) + (Year: 2015) + (Goodreads)


Review:

In my defence, I want to say that I don’t choose books hoping they would horrible so I can give them a bad review. I would much rather read one fantastic book after the other, so much that I’d run out of superlatives. But life is not perfect, and here I am after finishing In Search of the Paranormal.

I admit, I’ve had a period around the time before I hit puberty until long after, that I was very much into supernatural stories. That’s painfully obvious by the books I’ve purchased before I grew up enough to start appreciate more quality literature. I still have an interest in the creepy and I enjoy a good scary movie and what’s less often seen, a good scary book. Sadly, this is not one of those. For starters, it’s not scary.

Let me run through the good things first: although not scary, some of the events were interesting, I’m being honest here. Also, the author provides the names of real and existing locations which would be interesting to visit, even if you are a sceptic. He also provides links to sites where an interested reader can continue his or her investigation and even hear some of the things, recorded by Estep and his crew.

From there, it’s all downhill. Or, I guess I can’t really say it’s downhill, since I had so much fun, but I don’t suppose the author intended for his readers to laugh out loud on his spooky moments, so that’s a serious minus.

In chronological order, the things that amused me the most:

“He is also an accomplished writer, with several respected books on the subject of ghosts and haunting to his name.”

Really though! I know that Estep is probably taking himself seriously, but you cannot put “respected books” and “ghosts” in the same sentence. That would mean that the existence of the latter is proved without doubt. Which is not true. At all.

AND MY FAVOURITE, WHICH EARNED THIS BOOK AN ENTIRE STAR:

“Human excrement was smeared across several of them. Flowers were uprooted and scattered around the cemetery. Obscene graffiti defaced the back of many grave markers. Was this vandalism the work of unruly local kids, or something more sinister?”

HAhAHAHAHahAhAhAhHaHHah PLEASE IMAGINE IT. PLEASE. IMAGINE THIS GHOST OR DEMON(I’M IMAGINING THE DEMON), WITH A HANDFUL OF HUMAN SHIT AND A CAN OF SPRAY PAINT VANDALISING A CEMETERY. I BURST WITH LAUGHTER EVERY SINGLE TIME. HAHAHAHAHAH

tumblr_m92cftnpph1qlfdaz

… 3 minutes later I’m back to writing. I apologize for the caps lock,

but honestly.

And the author just doesn’t stop, does he?

“More human waste was smeared across the walls and flagstones. It appeared relatively fresh, no more than a day or two old.”

I don’t even want to know how does Mr Estep know how to judge if the “human waste” is fresh or not. I mean… where do you learn such a thing, how??? What in the name… ?

Also to mention the use, bordering with abuse, of the word tranquil. F*** calm, I’m a hipster, I’m tranquil.

Leave a Reply

