“Life in Outer Space” by Melissa Keil

Life in Outer Space

(Author: Melissa Keil) + (Year: 2013) + (Goodreads)


Review:

Technically, I’m being a bit generous with the 4 stars. Actual rating: 3.5 stars

If Rainbow Rowell wrote happier novels from the boy POV… you’d have Life in Outer Space. And to be honest, this is the better version. I have a strange infatuation with Rowell’s novels. It’s a sort of a love/hate relationship. I appreciate the story and the atmosphere, but the characters are mostly crap, especially the strange girls who for the life of them cannot adapt to living in the real world. I get it, I’m a book and movie geek too, but I don’t find the world so so so scary as to hide in my room forever.

Life in Outer Space is a cute little novel about a total geek named Sam, who has a fun group of friends and is living the glam geek life, until Camilla Carter comes into his life and turns it upside down.

As far as the story goes, it was enjoyable and fun. I liked the Camilla/Sam moments a lot. But overall the entire novel seemed like something’s missing. That’s my biggest problem with it, really. Right now, a few hours after I’ve finished Life in Outer Space, I don’t feel like I’ve been completely immersed in a full-blown world which could suck me in so deep as to not want to leave. I don’t even know how to explain this feeling. It’s sort of like being unresolved.

Not to mention that a big segment of the book was focused on dealing with the Mike problem which was then handled in a couple of pages and was totally laughable.

The thing I liked the most about this book was Camilla Carter. Usually I’m not a fan of these perfect girls that are been thrown at us in every book a la John Green, but there was just something about Camilla and how she was not really a hipster bitch. I absolutely loved the fact that she played World of Warcraft… Wait… maybe that’s it, I like her so much because I can find her easy to relate to. He-he.

Leave a Reply

