“Sharp Objects” by Gillian Flynn

Sharp Objects

(Author: Gillian Flynn) + (Year: 2006) + (Goodreads)


Review:

I read Gone Girl before the movie hype and I wasn’t very impressed: the author was trying to shove her “rich” vocabulary in every sentence and the characters were EXTREMELY hard to like. At the time I thought the latter was a minus. In this book however, which is weirdly released earlier than Gone Girl, the fucked up people are just one piece of this ingenious, twisted thriller.

I read a couple of reviews of Sharp Objects which drew my attention(thank you, GR friends!) and I’m SO GLAD I decided to read this. Sharp Objects is the second of Flynn’s books that I read and I’m starting to wonder if she was molested as a child or something, but nevertheless, in a wave of crappy thrillers and horrors, Sharp Objects shines!

This time around the writing was much more enjoyable and a lot less flashy and pompous(which leads to two possibilities: 1. Gillian Flynn has started writing worse with time, or 2. she was writing from Amy’s POV in the way Amy would speak, which is actually a positive thing if it’s true.)

The characters were so screwed up I don’t even know where to start. There was maybe one person who was not a complete psychopath and that was the Kansas detective. Everyone else was cray-cray. I’m wondering if this is a much darker look on reality than necessary, or that American society in some parts has lost more than a few screws. It seems terrifying that children at ages 13 or younger would have random sex, do copious amounts of drugs and booze and show acts of unbelievable cruelty against one another. I can’t believe that parents would be so monstrous to their children or that the entire society of a town would consist of maniacs and lunatics and meth-heads. Or maybe I can believe it, but I really don’t want to. Either way, Sharp Objects shows a very dark and scary world.

1ca0b4b71c3f0b083d92bb9ee193f8c0

Dark hair. Full lips, turning down at the corners. Beautiful.

Camille: in my opinion she can in no way be taken for a positive character. Her insanity is simply not directed towards others. In the end, I’m not sure she was saved. Not really. Maybe not ever.

 rsz_lola_tash-awifesnightmare

Pale. Blond. Big-breasted. Beautiful. Not very childlike.

Amma: I was very interested in her and could not figure her out for a long time. I finally did, but I still find her unbelievable. Or again, I don’t want to believe children like her, cruel, slutty and spoiled, exist.

As far as the big spin is concerned, I kind of expected one of the two possible outcomes. I was more surprised by how the book ended than not, so I’m really glad: I’ve had a long streak of very predictable books lately.

The book as  a whole: Creepy, twisted and able to mess with your head. Crazy, cruel and nearly terrifying characters, especially the “children”. I recommend it strongly, though not to the faint of heart. It’s not a BOO! kind of story, it’s just very disturbing.

Leave a Reply

