“A Thousand Pieces of You” by Claudia Gray

A Thousand Pieces of You (Firebird, #1)

(Author: Claudia Gray) + (Year: 2014) + (Goodreads)


Review:

4.5 stars, but I’m feeling generous!

First of all, this is the most beautiful cover I’ve had the pleasure to see on a book and I’d buy the paper copy just to be able to look at it, but sadly, when they translate books to Bulgarian often they change the cover.

This book is a delight! After a very bad trip with one of the worst Chuck Palahniuk books, I was feeling very down and this book was a certain cure.

The story is not that big of a surprise, especially for those of us who have watched Fringe: scientist think of a way to move through dimensions and a brave heroine, with the help of her interesting male counterparts, ventures on a dangerous journey to solve her dad’s murder. Only she finds out that the story is more complicated than expected and she has to deal with the many turns of the story. So far so good – it’s interesting if not too original.

What’s great about this book is the way the story is delivered and the characters in it. The author’s style is pleasurable, the dialogue is very nice, the descriptions give you a good view into the narrative. And the characters are super great! I don’t remember when I last read a book in which I didn’t hate even one character. I mean, it’s not like everyone is perfect and whatnot, it’s just that they are interesting and keep you intrigued.

 photo 1428767787.png photo 1428767824.png photo 14287675171.png

“I see… the way you’re always searching. How much you hate anything fake or phony. How you’re older than your years, but still… playful, like a little girl. How you’re always looking into people, or wandering what they see when they look back at you, Your eyes. It’s al in the eyes.”

Marguerite is a very down-to-earth and sensible character. She is indeed quite stubborn, but she is filled with passion and compassion, she is talented and smart, if not a science genius. She is an admirable character among the YA princesses of sorts. My favourite type: not ideal but normal.

 photo 1428768464.png photo 1428768613.png photo 1428768434.png

“His face is surprisingly difficult one to capture. The wide forehead-strong, straight eyebrows-the firm jawline-light brown hair with a hint of reddish gold to it that kept me mixing paints for hours in an attempt to get the exact shade-the way he ducks his head slightly, as if he’s apologizing for being so tall and so strong-that slightly lost look he has, like he knows he’ll never fit in and doesn’t even see the point of trying-but it’s the eyes that threw me.”

Paul was my preferred male character, especially Russian!Paul. He was so tender and caring, and yet he is always wilful and strong and very smart. Usually in YA the girl is always saving anyone with her brain and her superpowers. In this instance it’s true that Marguerite has certain strengths, but as far as I’m concerned, as rarely happens in teen novels, it’s a boy that’s the biggest brainiac and it’s exactly Paul.

 photo 1428768400.png photo 1428768554.png photo 1428768515.png

“Theo’s up to no good, as usual.”(there was a more detailed description, dark hair, full lips, etc. But imagining Theo, I had the trouble-maker in mind.)

Theo was also a fantastic character. I had him figured out from the beginning, including the big secret, but I still thought he was a very fun and interesting character. I was strongly rooting for him and I’m still not decided on which two sides of the triangle are best, but I’d be glad with both of them. Theo has a totally different vibe than Paul and by different, I don’t mean bad. I liked Russan!Paul, but I also really liked London!Theo, so…

One of my favourite things was the representation of different dimensions, each of them was interesting and I’d love to read additional info as to how they came to, especially the Russia dimension. I think Claudia Gray tried to add a bit of every possible change: from more developed technology, to very little developed one, to normal, to catastrophic. I’m excited for the worlds that await us in the next instalments.

And then there’s the dacha scene:

jon-stewart-oh-my-god

Though, I should warn you: DO NOT read this book expecting much more than a romance. That’s what it is. A ROMANCE. It has an unusual setting for a normal romance, but despite the pursuit of the father, 65% of the book is love. I didn’t mind it since I had no expectations about the subject of the book, since I hadn’t read the blurb. Sorry, not sorry.

To y’all physicists out there, what’s that thing with the cat that’s there, but is not there? LOL

One thought on ““A Thousand Pieces of You” by Claudia Gray

Leave a Reply

