“Every Last Word” by Tamara Ireland Stone

Every Last Word

(Author: Tamara Ireland Stone) + (Year: 2015) + (Goodreads)


Review:

Long story short: This is the best book that I’ve had the pleasure to review for NetGalley so far.

I requested Every Last Word without reading the blurb. It was cover love and I just had this desire to read it. And this is a proof that “Don’t judge a book by its cover” is not always right. Because I totally judged this book by its cover and it was totally worth it.

Every Last Word is a lovely coming of age book. I know that some readers may not see it like that, but I think that’s exactly what it is. Not only is Sam dealing with her OCD, she is just growing, turning from an overly anxious child to a strong and confident young woman.

tr3_51cf6447ddf2b32ed7317a5e

Sam is a very interesting character. She has many insecurities and issues but she manages to build an amazing defense system and to build in herself the confidence and will-power to stand up to her problems and deal with them. For the values that she represents, I highly admire Sam as a character. She is nowhere near perfect but she is doing her damnedest to just… be.

The rest of the characters were not as highly developed as I’d hoped, though. I know that many will not agree with this, because a lot of details are given about the secondary characters, loads of personal info on some of them, but I still couldn’t connect. It seems to me just the way that Sam’s first touch to Caroline is described: through a newspaper. All of the recurring characters seem like a facsimile. I felt especially out of reach with the Crazy 8s. Their behavior is very erratic and confusing, but not much detail is given on that and I couldn’t really understand what their deal was.

However, I’m willing to show understanding on this matter because the book is Sam’s narrative and in her head they are maybe not as corporeal as they should be, but she has her own issues to deal with. Overall the secondary characters are interesting and realistic, if not fully real, and I’m very happy about that fact.

AJ was more of a disappointment, but not because he was poorly written or something. I got him and he was really pleasant and nice and cute. But I couldn’t develop the mandatory fictional-character-crush…

What was really great about Every Last Word was the fact that it was very inspiring to me. And I especially loved the author’s infatuation with poetry. I’ve never in my life been tempted to read poetry beyond what is expected from me in high school and so on, but reading Every Last Word I almost felt the desire to actually try poetry. However, I’ve always found prose to be way more enticing, whereas poetry to me is a load of just way too personal mumbo-jumbo.

Oh, and I don’t know if I’ve read too many books to be surprised anymore(and I hope that’s not the reason), but the book’s big mystery was very see-through. I’m not going into spoilers but at about 35% I was already fully convinced and with a buttload of proof that a certain thing was going on and it was in fact going on, only the big reveal was at what, 80%? I’m not sure, but way too late in the book, considering that it was obvious from the very beginning. I’m not alone in this, am I?

Leave a Reply

