“The Amazing Journey” by Grady Hicks

The Amazing Journey: True Story of a Father and Son's Odyssey Around the World

(Author: Grady Hicks) + (Year: 2015) + (Goodreads)


Review:

THIS BOOK IS A STRONG RECOMMEND.

It truly is an amazing journey.

I received The Amazing Journey through NetGalley for an honest review and once again, visiting the GoodReads page, I’m shocked that I’m one of the few who have expressed interest. I should state that I’m not even a big fan of memoirs, neither do I often read non-fiction books.

But I do love travel, listening about travel, watching pictures and so on. I honestly don’t think that there is something as amazing to do as to see the world. In my opinion not even reading is as marvelous, simply because when one is reading as book, they are imagining themselves having the same adventures. Traveling – that’s living the adventure.

Grady Hicks and his son Austin plan a trip before Austin goes to college – they start from their home in Texas, then travel to Hawaii, after that they have a short stop in South Korea, then China, Tibet, Nepal, India, England, France and home again. FAN-TAS-TIC!

Honestly, if I were offered the opportunity to do this trip, I’d be on the plane as fast as you can say “plane”.

The most amazing thing about this book is that it’s sort of like a guidebook, but also filled with many personal views of the places the Hicks visit, recommendations and must-see’s. If I were to find myself in any of the places they visited that I haven’t been to, I’d definitely reference the book about places and restaurants, as Grady and Austin seem to always have a very good luck with the places where they can grab a bite.

This is not a book about struggle, although there is some, nor is it about saving the world, one African country at a time.

This is a book about exploring, about embracing the world and the variety of people and cultures there are out there. It’s a great trip through many different nations with different political and belief systems.

! Caution ! It can make you want to pack your bags, sell your house and go to Nepal or something. 

One of the things that made a great impression on me in The Amazing Journey, was actually Austin Hick’s behaviour. At first, I’d have to be honest and say that he was super annoying. I’m probably the same age as he is, and yet I’m not a brain-dead texting machine. I do text, but not for a moment would I think about spending half my trips in Hawaii and China texting. I was really hoping that he’d go through some sort of a catharsis and that he did, or at least I hope so. The scene with the pencil was quite endearing. I can’t be sure that his dad didn’t idealize him a bit, including his thoughts at the end of the book, but I’d be kind of proud of him if he managed to change his views a bit. It really bothers me that there are so many people in my generation and younger who have ABSOLUTELY no idea what’s going on in the world. People who just have it all and are not even giving any value to the things they have.

Leave a Reply

